Posted in California Livin'

The OC

My first year of college found me moving to the OC in Southern California. As soon as I saw the Nutwood exit to CSUF, I felt at home. The OC has many wonderful things about it: the beach, Disneyland, awesome food, and numerous others. But for me, I finally felt that I belonged somewhere after 18 years. I met my husband there and we lived in the OC until our daughter was a month old. And even though we don’t live there anymore, we try to go back as often as possible. This month we checked a couple of items off our Summer Bucket List by going to the fair and a professional baseball game.

We arrived at the OC fair in Costa Mesa, where it is right up the street from the beach and the weather was a breezy 80 degrees. After paying for our fair admission at ½ off because we got there early (Bargain alert!), we were greeted by these Steam Punk clowns that looked like they were on hiatus from Ryan Murphy’s American Horror Story:

We spent the expected but overpriced money so the kids could ride some rides (Bargain alert: rides were ½ off for the first two hours. Score!) and play some games:

We sampled as much fair food as we could. That included tacos, deep fried Oreos and pecan pie, cherry pop rocks doughnuts (you will never try a better doughnut), and $11 beers for my hubby and I.

We walked through the exhibits, which takes me back to my childhood when my sister and I would follow my mom around them. There were amazing cakes and my girl found a Harry Potter quilt that she had to take a picture with:

After we left the fair we headed back up the freeway to Angel stadium in Anaheim. The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim were playing against the Tampa Bay Rays and it was Disney night. This was the kids first MLB game and I was so excited for them to experience the game and all it has to offer. There was a Disney’s California Adventure Guardians of the Galaxy area where they could hula hoop and dance to music, play games for prizes, and take pictures:

Guardians of the Galaxy

When we actually stayed at our seats, the kids shocked me by enjoying the game. And Wesley stole my heart when he kissed me and said, “Let’s get on the kiss cam Mom!”:

Kiss Cam

We were rewarded at the end of the game with amazing fireworks where I watched the kids’ expressions more than the actual show. And when we arrived back at our car after the game, we were treated with more fireworks from Disneyland.

The fair and an Angel game made for a fun day for the family and I. The OC will always feel like home so continuing to show the kids where mom and dad met and lived before they came will always be of importance to me.

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

