Posted in Pop Culture

Friday Favorite: Dear White People (Netflix Binge)

Dear White People is a Netflix original show based on the 2014 movie of the same name. The story is set at a college with a group of diverse students. Spike Lee’s 1995 Higher Learning failed to do what Dear White People succeeds at: Showing that your experiences are dependent on the color of your skin without getting in your face andย coming across as preachy.

I had read and heard enough about the show that I decided I would make it my next treadmill binge after I finished 13 Reasons Why. Sam (Logan Browning) feels it is her job as a black student and radio DJ to make the white college students aware of their privilege. The show has humor and a bit of soap opera drama. But its underlying message is serious and each episode showcases that. When I read The Hate You Give, Starr had to be two different people. One person when she is is with her friends from her neighborhood and a different person when she is with her friends from her private school. Sam has the same problem when she begins a romantic relationship.

Episode 5 brings the tension to a head on campus. I was aware of what the episode was about but it still upset me to my core. The injustice of the incident frustrates me. And as somebody who didn’t feel her rights were taken from her until this past November, I feel ashamed.

Dear White People also deals with blackface, coming out, and interracial relationships. There needs to be more shows like this. As in, quality programming that educates.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. ย Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

