Posted in Word Therapy

Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Mother’s Day Edition

As a mom I:

  • Limit electronic time
  • Make my kids read on the weekend and during summer
  • Won’t allow them to have phones until they are in middle school
  • Yell and cuss
  • Still use time out for sassy talk (with a side of no electronics)
  • Make one dinner and one dinner only each night
  • Don’t share my desserts
  • Forbid social media like Facebook or Twitter for now (Music.ly is allowed with many limitations)
  • Tell my kids, “I’m okay with that” when they tell me I’m mean

But I also:

  • Make sure my family of four eats at home together at least 5 nights a week
  • Love to sit and read with my kids
  • Put my phone down as much as possible
  • Volunteer at their school
  • Chase my dreams so the kids know they can too, no matter how many obstacles get in the way

Every day I feel anger, fear, happiness, contentment, frustration, adoration, and exhaustion. As much as my anxiety tells me otherwise, I know I am not the only mom who feels this way. So for Mother’s Day I am going to give myself a break and realize I am doing the best I can. I love these kiddos and never take for granted the time I have with them.

Mothers Day 3

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

