Posted in Pop Culture

Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Catastrophe and Kingsman: The Golden Circle

I’ve had one of those weeks where I feel like I am over sharing on social media (started doing Instagram stories and I’m obsessed) and that my blog posts are just shit. I tell myself to move forward and that since I have really focused on my blog I have gained 100+ followers (Hi New Followers!!). They say write what you know. I know and love pop culture. Today I am excited about two things: Catastrophe, an Amazon series and Kingsman The Golden Circle, a film.

Catastrophe tells the story of Sharon (Sharon Horgan) and Rob (Rob Delaney). They are a married couple who stayed together after having a fling and Sharon became pregnant. Rob is an American who moved to the UK to be with Sharon. They are loud, rude, and not great people. And that makes them 100% relatable and hilarious. They don’t hold back when they are talking to each other and as a person who doesn’t have a filter I can’t get enough of their conversations. They have friends who are so weird that it makes them look normal. The sadly departed Carrie Fisher plays Rob’s mom and she is brash and narcissistic. I love this show because it shows the imperfections of marriage where the couple still love each other (I could hear the groans of the characters as I wrote that). Season 3 premieres today and I am going to try and not watch all of the criminally small amount of episodes (six) this weekend.

My apologies Mr. Bond, but I prefer Eggsy. Kingsman The Golden Circle arrives September 22, 2017. It is the sequel to 2015’s Kingsman: The Secret Service. It is based on the comic book by Mark Millar and Dave Gibbons (Kick Ass) . It is about a secret group of spies that bring in Eggsy (Taron Egerton) to make him one of their own. They then take on an evil genius (Samuel Jackson) who wants to control the world with his technology. It is cheeky and has action that is equal to, if not better, than a 007 movie.

The trailer for the sequel hit Tuesday and I was on a high all that morning after watching it (over and over again). We see Eggsy’s evolution, even cooler weapons than the last time, an underwater car, and explosions galore. They take everything away from our hero (have I mentioned it’s Eggsy?) to give him a reason to kick some ass. Their use of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” almost makes me forget that Orange Asshole Face used it at his joke of an inauguration (almost). There are hot blondes and a cowboy (Channing Tatum). And it doesn’t matter how awful the hair cut is or how ugly the glasses are, Halle Berry is still beautiful. And the finale gives us a certain someone wearing an eye patch that made me squeal with glee.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

