Posted in Pop Culture, Word Therapy

March is the New July (Throwback Post)

You guys. I know a lot about movies. So much that I don’t mind be called a movie snob. I have watched enough that if Blockbuster was still around, I would be THAT person approaching customers and telling them what they should be watching. I want everybody I talk to to feel the joy that I experienced watching Sing Street. Or the heartbreak that came with The Dark Knight (my most favorite superhero film). Or the terror I felt when the hubby and I watched Babadook. I like to feel the gambit of emotions when I watch film. It’s an addiction.

Four years ago I decided to write a post about how March is the New July. More and more the month of the beginning of Spring was featuring films that could be blockbusters outside of summer. The Hunger Games debuted in March of 2012, continuing the YA film craze that Twilight started. Other films such as Alice in Wonderland and Watchmen made a lot at the box office, defying predictions.

Movies premiering in March of 2013 showed a lot of promise. Oz the Great and Powerful with James Franco, Mila Kunis, and Michelle Williams showed fantastic visuals, some humor, and a spin on a classic story. Jack the Giant Slayer was directed by Bryan Singer and starred Nicholas Hoult. And last but not least, The Host. The Host was a YA book written by Stephenie Meyer of Twilight fame. I had read the book and loved it. I was excited for all three films and predicted they would do great. I should have kept my big mouth shut.

Two of the three films ended with awful reviews. Jack the Giant Slayer currently has a 52% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, making it Rotten on the Fresh/Rotten Scale. The Host is at 8%. The final summarized review for The Host said it had “moments of intentional hilarity” in it. OUCH. Oz the Great and Powerful fared the best at 59%. Oz was the only one I dared to watch. It was also the only one that did well at the box office. Mila Kunis is a little too over the top, James Franco is just not strong enough to be Oz, and Michelle Williams is at her meekest (but looks gorgeous in the costumes). It was disappointing at best. I tried watching Jack the Giant Slayer on cable and it didn’t hold my attention. And I didn’t even attempt The Host for fear that it would ruin the book for me. Since then I haven’t tried to predict what movies will do well other than the obvious: Marvel, Star Wars, and DC (no matter how awful it is).

When I saw the March line up for this year, I was excited. But I didn’t want to get TOO excited. Logan looked like a completely different type of X-Men movie, but in a good way. Kong: Skull Island showed potential. Beauty and the Beast is directed by Bill Condon (Dreamgirls) and stars Miss Hermione Granger herself, Emma Watson. And at the end of the month is Power Rangers.

I so wanted to do a new post but didn’t want to jinx these movies. Logan got awesome reviews and kicked ass at the box office. This past weekend Kong also made a lot of money. I have no doubt that Beauty and the Beast will do great. But the movie I am excited for the most and also worried for is Power Rangers.

Remember how awful the Power Rangers show was? I do. I never thought in a million years that I would be excited for a movie about them. But then I saw the trailer. It looked fun, the cast are cute and charismatic, and Bill Hader and Bryan Cranston are with the good guys. But the best part? Elizabeth Banks as villainess, Rita Repulsa. She looks campy and scary, Effie Trinket’s evil alien twin sister. The more over the top she is, the better.

So I will be sitting here with my fingers and toes crossed, waiting for that move review embargo to be lifted and hope that Power Rangers gets the love I want it to receive.

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

