Posted in Pop Culture, Word Therapy

Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Sing Street

Set in Dublin, Ireland in the 1980s, Sing Street was one of my favorite movies of last year. It has a sweet love story, a soundtrack that will make you nostalgic and want to dance, and a lot of growing up moments that are funny and cringe worthy.

The story focuses on Conor (Ferdia Walsh-Peelo), a teen who has been told by his parents that they can’t afford for him to go to his school any longer. They transfer him to a strict Catholic school where he meets some new friends, is bullied, and decides to start a band after talking to Raphina (Lucy Boynton). Conor’s brother encourages him to write original music for the band. As the band practices they make music videos and feature Raphina, who Conor is slowly falling in love with.

Director John Carney made the film Once back in 2007. It was another movie centered around music and set in Ireland. After I watched the movie, I listened to the soundtrack on repeat and became thrilled when it won best song at the Oscars in 2008. It also became a hit Broadway show. When I read about Sing Street and how good it was, I couldn’t watch it fast enough (I unfortunately had to wait for Netflix as I live in the boonies and movies like this aren’t shown out here-BOO). I loved it so much I made my husband watch it the following week. The combination of the 80s music (Duran Duran, The Cure, and Joe Jackson) with original songs is sweet and fun. The best scene in the movie uses song to balance out heartbreak.

The kids in Sing Street remind me a little of the ones in Stranger Things: they all play their part to perfection and are adorable. They are unknown in the U.S. but Lucy Boynton is already starring in the upcoming Agatha Christie film Murder on the Orient Express, directed by Kenneth Branagh and starring Johnny Depp and Daisy Ridley.

Here is the official video from the movie with my favorite song:

I promise it will make you want to watch the movie. As for me, I might have to go watch it a third time.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

One thought on “Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Sing Street

Leave a Reply

