Posted in Pop Culture, Word Therapy

Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Lego Batman

In July of 2013, The Lego Movie trailer premiered. When I first heard they were making the film, I rolled my eyes and told my husband, “Nope.” I thought there was no way in hell it would be good. My inner movie snob couldn’t/wouldn’t give it a chance. Fast forward to February of the following year:

lego-movie

Hubby and I took the kids to the Block in Orange County to see the movie. The trailers had worn me down, one by one. The reviews proved me wrong, all of them saying how original, clever, and fun it was. And it WAS x 1000. We all loved it and Everything was Awesome.

This past weekend we saw Lego Batman and it was just as good if not better. Instead of Lego Batman being one dimensional (are you listening Zack Snyder??), we see a new side of the superhero. It pays homage to all the Batmans before him in the most “aaaaaawwww” and hilarious way. The collection of villains put Suicide Squad to shame. But the best part was watching my I-won’t-give-you-a-smile-even-if-it-kills-me 9 year old daughter jump up and down in her seat and pumping her fists in the air, all while looking at me with a dopey grin. She was in nerd heaven as was I.

Lego Batman is the kind of movie you want to watch multiple times to catch new moments you didn’t discover the first time. Or maybe I just want to see Batman see Barbara Gordon for the first time to the tune of Cutting Crew’s “(I Just) Died in Your Arms” (my go to song when I was pining for a crush in junior high) again. Either way, you should go see it.

lego-batman-movie

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

