Posted in Pop Culture, Word Therapy

Friday Favorite (aka Where I blabber about what I love): Trying to Find the Light

It’s been a week. Parenting is so damn hard. Sometimes I feel like once you become a parent you enter a silent agreement to not talk about how hard it is. Right now all I want to do is go somewhere tropical, lie on a beach and read my book. I don’t care how damn cliché that sounds. I can practically feel the heat on my arms while the freckles slowly appear. There would be nobody on my beach except for my hubby, who would surely be snoring in the chair next to me. But since I can’t hop on a plane right now, here is what is keeping me out of the darkness this week:

  • Big Little Lies: I am currently reading this book by Liane Moriarty. It will be a mini series on HBO starring Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, and Shailene Woodley come February 19th.. It is the story of three moms who have small children in school together, the drama that follows them, and the murder that happens as a result. I just hit that point in the book where all I can think about is finding time to keep reading. And as the mom of two in school, I can definitely relate to some of the moments.
  • Key and Peele’s football sketch: I originally discovered Jordan Peele on Twitter, tweeting out imaginary football players’ names. Each one always made me laugh so I am ashamed to admit that I just discovered the sketch on his Comedy Central show this week. It might not be Angry Luther but I laughed until my stomach hurt watching this.
  • Melissa McCarthy on SNL: Good old Saturday Night Live. Ever since election day and the show’s subsequent return, I have taken comfort each Saturday night and how mercilessly they roast the new president. So when Melissa McCarthy showed up last weekend as White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer, it was all I could do to not stand up and clap like a seal. And the girl BROUGHT IT. From “Moose-Lambs” to her picking up the podium and charging the press, I laughed so hard I cried. Now if she could do that every week for the next four years I might be able to make it.
  • Meditation: I fought doing meditation for so long. I never made the time. But there was a moment last month where I finally realized I shouldn’t do meditation, I needed to do meditation. And now when I feel overwhelmed, angry, or just need to take a minute, I go to my phone, put my earbuds in, and meditate for at least 5 minutes. A lot of the times I am not as focused as I would like to be, but it always helps.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

