Posted in Pop Culture

Friday Favorites (Where I blabber about what I love): Denzel

Let’s talk about heroes, shall we? I think we can all agree that we have seen a lot of them in the past couple of weeks (don’t worry, I’m not going to go off on another political rant). But today I need to retreat to my beloved movies and their heroes. At the top of my list is Mr. Denzel Washington.

Hubby and I rented The Magnificent 7 last week. I have grown to love Westerns in my adulthood and when one comes out with a great cast (Denzel, Christ Pratt, and Peter Sarrrrrrrrrsgard to name a few) and good director (Antoine Fuqua), I get excited. The movie ended up not really contributing anything new to the genre and Sarrrrrrrsgard as the villain didn’t have much depth. But Denzel chewed up every single scene and spit it out.

Denzel is one of Hollywood’s best. He can play a good guy (Glory), a bad guy (Training Day), and my personal favorite, the antihero. Which leads me to my favorite Denzel movie: Man on Fire. Man on Fire is a revenge flick set in Mexico. I don’t know why but an action drama set in Mexico is something I flock to. Throw in some gratuitous violence and I am THERE (Examples of these and their B movie goodness: Tarantino’s From Dusk Till Dawn and Kevin Costner’s Revenge) But because it’s Mr. Washington, he elevates the film cred with his presence.

Denzel plays former hitman John Creasy, who is hired to be a bodyguard for Lupita Ramos (Dakota Fanning), the daughter of important businessman Samuel (Marc Anthony). When the Creasy is unable to protect her, he goes after the men who committed the crime. These men are part of La Hermandad, aka the Mexican Mafia. It is dark, gritty, has “Blue Bayou” by Linda Rondstadt, Christopher Walken as Creasy’s buddy, and an ending that won’t make you happy but can’t deny its strength.

Denzel has so many good roles (Unstoppable, Inside Man, Fences) that I know I will never be disappointed with him in a film. But Man on Fire will always be my go to when I need a good guy to take down the bad ones.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

