Posted in Word Therapy

Thank You

In January of 2009 I was living in a three bedroom house that had seen better days. “Well worn” would be putting it kindly. It smelled weird when we moved in and it never went away for the 16 months that my family and I lived there. I was two months pregnant with my son Red. And on January 20, 2009, I watched President Obama be sworn into office with my 17 month old daughter and my mom.

In January of 2010 my family and I were renting two bedrooms in a four bedroom house owned by my husband’s best friend in Avondale, Arizona. We had moved to Arizona for a temp job for my husband because jobs were scarce. Red was 5 months old and Curls was 2 years old. We didn’t have insurance. The next 10 months of our lives would be the hardest we had ever faced.

On March 23, 2010 President Obama signed The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (more commonly known as Obamacare) into law. He also would sign the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010 into law.
January of 2011 had my family and I back home in California. We were struggling financially but we didn’t care because we were back in our home state. My husband had a new job and we were renting a place that was just ours. I remember unpacking my toiletries in the master bathroom and feeling giddy that I had my own shelf to store them. Both Curls and Red had health insurance.

In 2011 President Obama and his administration repealed Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. The man responsible for 9/11, Osama Bin Laden, was killed by U.S. Navy SEALs. I will never forget the swagger my President had as he walked down that red carpet to announce to the world that Bin Laden was no longer a threat.

2012 brought our first purchased home as a family. And not just a home but a dream home. The kids each had their own room and a playroom for their toys. It had a kitchen that was open with an island. My husband had been promoted at his job. And I started to do preschool stuff with Curls as I was still able to be home with the kids.

President Obama won his second term in 2012. Curls told me she wished she could have voted for him, putting the cherry on top of already a great year.
In January 2015 my husband was afforded the luxury of starting his own business. It had always been a dream of his and I was so proud and happy that he was able to do that. I became his accountant and customer service contact while working from home. Curls was in second grade and Red was a kindergartner. My husband and I both had health insurance at an affordable rate thanks to Obamacare.

The unemployment rate at the end of 2015 was 5%. And on June 26, 2015, the Supreme Court declared that same sex marriage was legal in all 50 states.

It is now January of 2017. There is 8 days until the new President will be sworn in. President Obama gave his last speech this week. I cried. My President is a good and kind man (notice I didn’t say perfect). Flotus herself, Michelle Obama, is a goddess (she IS perfect). Their two daughters seem to be normal and responsible girls. The Obamas are what define America for me. They have brought so much progress to this country in the 8 years they have been in the White House. I can only hope that will continue.

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

