Posted in Word Therapy

New Year’s Resolutions 2017: Less reality, more writing

It is the new year. For the most part I hate resolutions because that is the most direct route for me to fail. I already exercise. I watch what I eat (mostly). Every year I say I am going to write more. This year I went so far as to say I was going to watch my language but that lasted about a millisecond. I thought I had my anxiety in check. Every day I look at my phone when I wake up (a bad habit that needs to be broken) and check social media for the news. My head starts to hurt and my heart starts to race.

 
My husband and I are unapologetic when it comes to our fears and what 2017 has in store for us. We have been told to give the president elect a chance. No.  We have been told that our fears are unfounded and everything will be fine. Nope again.  I haven’t gone so far as to say that I am a doomsdayer but holy shit it’s hard to wade through the toxic waters and find fresh air. I know we are not alone. We live in California which Curls loves to refer to as “the blue state!” When I am told I need to call my state representatives, I know they are doing their jobs (on almost a daily basis I read how they are ramping up for a fight with the new administration). We are marching the day after the inauguration in Los Angeles. And I will continue to follow organizations that will be threatened (Planned Parenthood, The Trevor Project, etc.)

 
Every minute of my day is a concerted effort to keep my anxiety in check. So instead of unrealistic goals this year, I am going to be kind to myself. Do things that will improve the quality of life not just for myself but for my family. I am going to start with:

 
⦁ Check news once a day instead of multiple times
⦁ Write, write, write, and write some more
⦁ More music and reading, less Facebook
⦁ Be patient with myself and others
⦁ Focus on what I love
⦁ Remember this: “If somebody tells you you’re too much for them, they’re right. Next!”
⦁ Drink water: my skin has started its descent from grape to raisin and it isn’t pretty
⦁ Meditate
⦁ Do more 5Ks and maybe a 10K (but fun ones-mama’s not winning any races)
⦁ More Glennon Doyle Melton, Luvvie, and Brene Brown
⦁ Pet as many dogs as I can

 
One day at a time is what I can do. Breathe and take my time. And hope that 2017 won’t suck as much as 2016 (not a challenge 2017).

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2017: Less reality, more writing

  1. Hang in there! Great blog … I love the idea of trying to pet more dogs.

    Maybe our boys would like to go see A Dog’s Purpose together?

    💜

Leave a Reply

