Posted in Word Therapy

Friday Favorites (aka Where I blabber about things I love): Potterheads

When Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone came out, I was in my twenties. I didn’t read them at first. I was given the first six by a co-worker because her children couldn’t get into the books (GASP) and I decided to give them a try. I read them in a matter of a few months. I remember my excitement when Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out. I would see people in public with the 759 page book and I would have to stop myself from running over to gush about how good the books are. Almost 10 years later and I can now count my daughter as a Potterhead.
Before her ninth birthday, I had tried to convince my girl to try Harry Potter. She loves to read and Goosebumps was her first obsession with a book series (Oh how jealous I am that she is at the beginning of her book obsession!). And either out of spite (a very real possibility) or disinterest, she didn’t want to. But when a couple of friends started to read them, she informed me it was time. I eagerly pulled the entire collection out of a box in the garage (I really need a library in my house) and brought them to her. For her birthday I bought her her own paperback copy of The Sorcerer’s Stone so she could love it, dog ear it, write in it, etc. to her heart’s content.
Four months later and she’s on book number five. Her favorite character is Ginny Weasley. She watches the first four movies every weekend on repeat. Her Christmas list is all things Harry Potter. She talks about going to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, asking me if they have Hogsmeade (they do) and if they have the 9 3/4 station (they do).
Before August I imagined how emotional I would get just walking through the entrance of The Wizarding World and seeing what J.K. Rowling created in person. Now I get to see it through Curls’ eyes and my husband is going to need a mop for the bucket load of tears I am going to cry on that day. And with my son halfway through the first book, it won’t be long before my family will be 100% Potterheads (hubby doesn’t have a choice).
I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

 

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

