Posted in Pop Culture

Friday Favorites (aka Where I blabber about things I love): Survival Checklist in this post 2016 election world

I am slowly getting it together after last week. I am still angry and motivated. And since my family and I can’t run away to a deserted tropical island for the next four years, I needed to make a list of things that will help me get through it.
President Obama and babies: There is an actual Tumblr page dedicated to the cuteness that is our current President (PLEASE DON’T GO) with babies. These pictures vault me back and forth between being so happy and terrified that he will only be our President for a couple more months. Either way, they make me smile.
Krispy Kreme Doughnuts: We just got one by my house and I couldn’t be HAPPIER. Freshly made, freaking adorable cups for sale, and the doughnut conveyor belt:

krispy-kreme-waterfall-2-1b31d5t
My Voice: Last week had such a profound effect on me that I have ran out of fucks to give. I feel the way I feel and I am done apologizing and making myself feel bad about it. As a result I can’t stop writing. And my inner voice that is always telling me my writing sucks has lost its power. It has been therapeutic when I couldn’t find the light.
Dystopian Novels: Out of all the young adult novels that I have read, dystopian is the genre that I have read the most. The Handmaid’s Tale, The Hunger Games, the Divergent series, and Life As We Knew It series have all prepared me for when this country goes to hell in a handbasket. I now finally understand Doomsday Preppers.
Samantha Bee, John Oliver, and even Bill Maher: Samantha Bee and John Oliver started on The Daily Show before they were given their own shows on TBS and HBO. Every one of their shows is informative, funny, and passionate. They learned from the best (Jon Stewart) and they are doing him proud. Bill Maher’s weekly round table show can be hit or miss but always guarantee guests with different point of views. They will have no problem taking this new administration to task and giving me hope.
Hamilton, Hamilton Mixtape, and Lin-Manuel Miranda: I have never met Lin-Manuel Miranda but he is seriously one of my favorite people on the planet (family aside). He exploded onto the scene with his Broadway show Hamilton last year and since then he has written music for The Force Awakens and the upcoming Disney animated feature Moana. ย He is alsoย set to star opposite Emily Blunt in a sequel to Mary Poppins. His Twitter and Facebook presence is heartfelt, humble, and funny. Hamilton‘s cast recording has been on repeat in my car since January and with the release of Hamilton Mixtape, my kids and I have fallen in love with the songs all over again with popular artists such as Sia and Kelly Clarkson covering them.
I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

4 thoughts on “Friday Favorites (aka Where I blabber about things I love): Survival Checklist in this post 2016 election world

  1. I still can’t read any news as I get upset all over again, but I’m with you as far as feeling marginally better today. Glad you’re writing…it’s a powerful thing!

Leave a Reply

