Posted in Word Therapy

White privilege, white guilt, and a side of word vomit

Its been nine days and I am still angry. I keep hoping this is a lucid dream due to my medication and that I am going to wake up any minute. I feel like I’m walking underwater, every step making it harder to breathe. I have subscribed to my local Democratic party, Planned Parenthood, The Trevor Project, and Girls Write Now. For Christmas I will be making donations to these organizations. I wear my safety pin to show my support. Social media such as Twitter (had to take Facebook off my phone to avoid getting myself into arguments) helped until it didn’t. They are all telling me I have white privilege and white guilt. And they’re right.
Since 11/8 I don’t worry about my family and I being targeted because of the color of our skin, our religious beliefs, or sexual orientation. But I know others do. Yes, I am a woman. Yes, I have a daughter. But this is where Angry Kitty comes in handy. I fear for the man who tries to sexually assault me. And because of this shit show of an election and its results, I have had to tell Scarlet that her body is her body. Nobody else’s. I will teach her to protect it, take pride in it, and not fucking apologize for it. I will be damned if a misogynistic a-hole of a man who has been elected President will determine her worth.
I started wearing my safety pin Monday. And not even a couple of hours later I read this article. I was furious and I felt stupid. Once I calmed down I understood a little bit of the author’s point of view. These safety pins don’t solve the problem. Yes, they show unity of people against racist intentions. But unless we stand up and do the work, the safety pins don’t mean anything. I will be volunteering with the above mentioned organizations. I will never “normalize” this upcoming President and his staff. At minimum the man has no experience (for other reasons as to why he shouldn’t be President-DO YOUR DAMN RESEARCH). I won’t do this for just a couple of months. I will get my kids involved. They need to believe they can make a difference. Now that we have been handed this reality we need to fight for what we know is right. As a white woman, I can’t pretend to understand the reality of Muslims, Mexican Americans, or other minorities. But I can listen. And I can read.
Right now I am not proud to be an American. But I also know I underestimated Donald Trump and his ability to get elected. I acknowledge my white privilege and guilt. I will not apologize for it because that doesn’t do a damn thing anyways. 2018 is not far away and there is a lot of work to be done, even in the blue state of California. I will draw inspiration from this message from our leaders:

Wednesday, November 09, 2016

SACRAMENTO – California Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León (D-Los Angeles) and California Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount) released the following statement on the results of the President election:

Today, we woke up feeling like strangers in a foreign land, because yesterday Americans expressed their views on a pluralistic and democratic society that are clearly inconsistent with the values of the people of California.

We have never been more proud to be Californians.

By a margin in the millions, Californians overwhelmingly rejected politics fueled by resentment, bigotry, and misogyny.

The largest state of the union and the strongest driver of our nation’s economy has shown it has its surest conscience as well.

California is – and must always be – a refuge of justice and opportunity for people of all walks, talks, ages and aspirations – regardless of how you look, where you live, what language you speak, or who you love. 

California has long set an example for other states to follow. And California will defend its people and our progress. We are not going to allow one election to reverse generations of progress at the height of our historic diversity, scientific advancement, economic output, and sense of global responsibility.

We will be reaching out to federal, state and local officials to evaluate how a Trump Presidency will potentially impact federal funding of ongoing state programs, job-creating investments reliant on foreign trade, and federal enforcement of laws affecting the rights of people living in our state. We will maximize the time during the presidential transition to defend our accomplishments using every tool at our disposal.

While Donald Trump may have won the presidency, he hasn’t changed our values. America is greater than any one man or party. We will not be dragged back into the past. We will lead the resistance to any effort that would shred our social fabric or our Constitution.

California was not a part of this nation when its history began, but we are clearly now the keeper of its future.

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

2 thoughts on “White privilege, white guilt, and a side of word vomit

Leave a Reply

