Posted in Word Therapy

Friday Favorites aka Where I blabber about things I love: Everything British

In 2004 I was lucky enough to visit London after I graduated from college. Hubby and I stayed for a couple of days and ever since then I have had a soft spot for everything British.

Love Actually, Nottinghill, and About Time are some of my favorite Brit movies. All three are written by Richard Curtis. They are original romantic comedies set in England with diverse characters and soundtracks that make me feel things. Instead of watching Lifetime Network movies when I am in my twilight years, I will be watching these three (sorry Babe).

Later with Jools Holland is a weekly live music show. Each week four to five artists perform on the same stage, individually and sometimes together. There are always a different group of performers from Norah Jones, Declan McKenna, and Barry Gibb on a recent episode. The atmosphere reminds me of late night shows in the 80s (Nostalgia be hitting me hard in my 40s). Here is a clip from a show with M83 (check out Miss Thang on the keyboard with her fantastic hair and makeup):

I discovered Amy Winehouse after her tragic death in 2011. I of course had heard “Rehab” and “Valerie” but never really paid attention past that. A “Valerie” remix with Jay-Z popped up on Pandora one day and I heard something in her voice that I identified with: pain. My heart broke watching the documentary Amy and seeing the struggles this girl went through with her family and addictions. She had so much talent and couldn’t handle the pressure of every day life let alone fame. Ms. Winehouse is a legend in my mind and always a go to on my playlist.

The Graham Norton Show is another late night show on BBC but a talk show. Host Graham Norton is gruff, has a dry sense of humor, and doesn’t give a fuck. That makes him AWESOME. There is a couch for his guests and everybody is always having a good time (fake or real, it’s entertaining). I theorize that they get their guests good and liquored up in the green room before they come out. Throw political correctness out the window and I’m cracking up. Case and point:

Black Mirror is last on the list because it is my current favorite thing out of the UK and the new season comes out today on Netflix. This show has been described as The Twilight Zone for millenials but it is way more messed up than a Tiny Tina doll (The Twilight Zone episode that still scares the hell out of me). Electronics, social media, and their negative impact on our lives are a major factor in each episode . The first season has an episode regarding a pig, a princess, and a prime minister. And if you think that sounds like the beginning of a fairy tale you will be shocked. “White Bear” is an episode in Season 2 that is even worse and made me question my basic principles regarding life (dramatic, but you get the point). The husband and I can only watch one episode a day to allow ourselves to process and discuss it. It has made me look at tv a whole different way.

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

