Posted in Pop Culture, Word Therapy

Friday Favorites (Where I blabber about things I love)

Now that I have allowed myself to be happy, I have to be reminded of what does. When I am having a bad day it helps for me to remember why I am unhappy and something that will help me snap out of it. Two things that work are movies and music.

If you have known me for more than five minutes you know I could talk about movies 24/7. I love all movies, from old to new, action to horror, blockbusters to foreign. Asking me to pick one favorite movie is like asking me to pick my favorite kid (it depends on the day). But in the past couple of weeks I have been lucky enough to enjoy a few films that surpassed my expectations:

Netflix Rental: The Nice Guys

Director Shane Black made me love Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr. with his 2005 movie Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, a murder mystery set in Los Angeles. With The Nice Guys he has managed to duplicate the chemistry with Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling, another murder mystery set in Los Angeles, this time in the 70s. I can’t emphasize how much I love these men and the way they play off each other. Ryan Gosling has proven he can play the romantic lead (The Notebook), the straight guy (Crazy, Stupid, Love), and with this flick he is the funny man. He is the bumbling idiot to Crowe’s straight guy. The story is good but all I cared about was watching these men interact.

Currently in theaters: Queen of Katwe

Queen of Katwe is the true story of Phiona (Madina Nalwanga), a girl growing up in Uganda. She is introduced to chess by missionary Robert Katende (David Oyelowo), finds herself winning tournaments, and sees a way to get her family out of poverty. Lupita Nyong’o’s performance as Phiona’s mother gave me goosebumps and I am afraid I won’t be able to stop hugging David Oyelowo if I ever meet him. Both performances are powerful.

Horror movie (because October): Hush

Every October hubby and I (okay, me) make a list of horror movies that we want to watch. We’ve watched The Babadook, both Evil Dead movies, and The Loved Ones in past Octobers. We started this month with 2016’s Hush. It is the story of a writer who lost her hearing when she was a teenager due to bacterial meningitis. She lives in a cabin in semi reclusion. During a night of writing she becomes the target of a psychotic intruder who plans on terrorizing her for as long as he can. It was TENSE. At 87 minutes it is a short film but I couldn’t have handled any longer. It is a battle between the two about 20 minutes in and is filled with so many twists and turns that I didn’t know how it was going to end. John Gallagher Jr. plays the intruder and he was so good that I didn’t even recognize him from other movies that I have loved him in (rent Short Term 12, you won’t regret it)

As for music, I grew up on pop (Rick Dees was the voice of my childhood) and 80s soft rock (long live KOST 103.5). When my husband I started dating, his love of all kinds of music rubbed off on me. Pink Floyd and Johnny Cash quickly became favorites. Having music on in the house is our normal. Rocking out to Youtube videos during dinner is something my kids can’t get enough of. We listen to a lot of alternative music because we’re cool, obvi. These songs and videos are my current jams:

Zipper Club, “Going the Distance”: This song makes me want to watch John Hughes’ films like Breakfast Club or Pretty in Pink. It belongs on the soundtrack for all awesome coming of age stories, reminding me of 80s bands OMD or Human League.

Empire of the Sun, “High and Low”: This Australian duo are the BEST. Their costumes and makeup brings back the fun in music videos I watched as a kid. Add some pop music where you will be singing the chorus days after you hear it and I am in LOVE.

The 1975, “Somebody Else”: The saddest song of the three. But as a big crybaby, I love a dramatic love song. And The 1975 are aresome (Yes, aresome)

I hope you have a go to list of things that make you happy and you get to enjoy them over the weekend. Thanks for reading!

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

