Posted in Mama Adventures

Sunshine

Anybody who knows you is aware of your endless energy (Ha! Understatement of the year). But when I think of you, I remember how you wake up in the morning.

You live in a house with three non-morning people. Dad doesn’t like to wake up. Sissy gives you the death stare every time you say something to her. I just like silence. But you are the pure sunshine to our cloudy day. Whether I come and wake you up for school during the week, or you come in my bedroom on the weekends, you always start with, “Good morning. How did you sleep?” You look at me with your adorable spattering of freckles and those sometimes green, sometimes brown, but-always-warm, eyes. You smile when we make eye contact. You lean into me. You give hugs and squeeze tight. And no matter how tired or grumpy I am, I always squeeze back, so glad that you are my boy.

Wesley dog reading

Now that you are six, you know what you like and make it known. Super Mario Bros and any of its inhabitants are your best friends, along with school friend Cyrus. Teen Titans, We Bare Bear, and Scooby Doo are your favorite cartoons. You are a great reader but reading from page one to the one that follows is not your strong suit. You read Shel Silverstein all summer because its silliness matches yours. You are hot tempered, impatient, determined, fun loving, and mischievous. You eat grilled cheeses and fries from In N’ Out and use as much “spread” as is allotted to you. You like to try new foods and even tried scallops before knowing what they were.

This past year included you starting school. I was terrified, wondering if your teacher would be able to control you. But not only did you have an awesome teacher, you showed me that you can thrive in a classroom. You were reading by Christmas and getting away with a lot because you never stop being the class clown. Here is one conversation we had in the first week of school:

Wesley, telling me about his day at school: “I farted in class today and they put my clip down (for bad behavior). But I still got a good day ticket.” Me, trying not to laugh: “How many times did you fart?” “Twice. And they were loud!”

Wesley Rockstar

You do everything at full speed and I have gotten used to holding my breath when you get on your bike, go on a trampoline, ride your scooter, or even crawl up a door way like Spiderman. You don’t let anything slow you down. You are a lover, not a fighter, and you wear your heart on your sleeve just like me. We share the same love for movies and you will watch anything as long as you have candy to munch on. I love sharing this with you because you cuddle up next to me, even holding my hand.

You have the same sweet smile when you go to bed at night. You burrow under your covers with your Minion and Buzz Lightyear dolls, listening to your Dad or I read you a story. Your look of contentment is one of the best parts of my day as I turn off your light and tell you sweet dreams. Thank you for being my sunshine, Baby Boy. Happy 6th birthday.

Wesley Palm Springs

Love,

Mom

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

