Posted in Good Things

Spread the Joy

As Thanksgiving will be here in a couple weeks, my kiddos are being taught by their teachers to be thankful. Red came home from school last Monday with a large blue construction paper feather and was told to come up with reasons what he is thankful for. I got out my handy dandy piece of paper and pen and sat down with him. I am happy to say that he didn’t even have to think about it. He started out shooting answers while I had to hurry and write them down. This is what my sweet boy came up with:

  1. His minion shirt that Grandma and Papa gave him (I can’t wash it fast enough so he can wear it again and again)

  2. His Legos (what boy his age isn’t thankful for them??)

  3. His friends

  4. Books (I stopped to clap like a circus seal when he said that)

  5. His family

So in the spirit of the holiday and for when I need a reminder, these are my reasons as to why I am thankful. I hope at least some of them will bring you joy. Have a wonderful week and be sure to thank a Veteran. I am thankful for my Dad and Father-in-Law, who fought for our country. Love you Dad and Chris!

  1. As a huge Calvin and Hobbes fan (which this reminded me of) and a sucker for a good holiday commercial, this one had me in tears. The cute and sweetness are on overload.

  2. On 11/6/14, the new Star Wars movie title was announced (Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens), the cast of the new Quentin Tarantino movie The Hateful Eight was revealed (Yes, I love Channing Tatum. But Demian Bichir is who I flipped over), and in 2017 a new Toy Story movie will be in theaters. As a movie nerd to the nth degree, Christmas had come early.

  3. The show Walking Dead: It took me until I binge watched the first two seasons did I finally see the light. There are so many reasons why this show is such a phenomenon. The great cast, the makeup (Greg Nicotero is the MAN), and the twists and turns that you should expect by now but will never be fully prepared for. But what I always say when I am trying to bring a non watcher to the dark side is that it is a fascinating study on human nature. The zombies are not what you should be afraid of. When society has broken down like it has in this world, the remainder of the population becomes primal and cruel in their quest for survival. Nobody is truly good and what is right or wrong is never clear. I am not a psychologist and never wanted to be. But I feel like I am a taking a course in mental health every Sunday night at 9 pm (This is one of the few shows that I cannot wait to watch it the next day. I love it that much and because *DUH* SPOILERS)

  4. Coconut Milk EOS lip balm: If there is a new EOS lip balm, it has taken up residence in the Wilson household. I am pretty sure we have one of each flavor but the Coconut Milk (which just arrived in our local Super Target) is especially delicious. It tastes like a Pina Colada minus the calories. And speaking of calories…..

  1. A sure sign that Christmas is coming: White fudge covered Oreos and Nutella hot chocolate. While doing my grocery shopping I found my beloved white fudge Oreos that only come around during the holidays. Don’t get me wrong. I love the Caramel Apple Oreos that were out last month and I was super bummed I didn’t get to try the Pumpkin Spice ones. But nothing beats that white chocolate-not-chocolate enveloping America’s classic cookie. And if I want to push all my chips in, I make some Nutella hot chocolate topped off with little marshmallows and whipped cream. Now if California would stop being such a little bitch and cool off, I could drink it without breaking a sweat. 90 degrees in November. I mean, COME ON.

I am sure I could come up with more reasons that I am thankful for but these five stand out right now. What are you thankful for?

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

