Posted in Mama Adventures

Team Wesley

Oh, My Wesley. My energizer bunny, my clock that never stops ticking. You are “on” all day long and the Wesley Show is a traveling one. You make everybody laugh wherever we go because your lack of inhibition makes you an adorable goofball. I am still learning how to handle you, even as you enter your fifth year, and feeling like this summer has made me grow as a mother. You are my love bug but your determination to get into anything and everything that causes trouble is a daily struggle. We are working through it and I know we will eventually come out on the other side.

Only Legos and movies will sustain you for a period of time past five minutes. Scooby Doo, Lego Movie, Coraline, Despicable Me, and Toy Story (four years and counting) are all current favorites.

You have a perfectly placed freckle on the tip of your nose that I want to kiss over and over. I call it Bob and even though you wanted to call it Buzz Lightyear in the beginning, you agree the perfect name is Bob.

You became quick tempered when you turned 4 so we have learned together to take deep breaths and count to 10. A recent shopping trip to the grocery store involved me getting upset with your sister. You could see that and your response was: “Let’s turn that frown upside down! Just breathe Mom.”

Your love of the ladies has just gotten bigger and bigger. You always want to say hi to the female cashiers in the Starbucks drive thru. You are full of compliments. You catch me checking myself out in a bathroom mirror and inform me: “You don’t need to look Mom. You look beautiful!”

Your determination fills me with joy. When you decided you wanted to learn to ride your bike earlier this year, you got on it, and told yourself, “I got this! I can do it!” Three tries later and you were gone with the wind. My hope for you is that you never lose this. Your belief in yourself and ambition will get you the furthest.

Yes, my hair will be all the way gray sooner rather than later because of you. But I will always be Wile E. Coyote to your Roadrunner. I love you Wesley. Happy birthday my little devil.

Favorites:

Color: Blue

Ice Cream: Oreo

Movie: Toy Story

Song: “You’ve Got a Friend in Me”

TV Show: Adventure Time

Superhero: Spiderman (because he has webs)

Wesley birthday

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

2 thoughts on “Team Wesley

  1. I love your writing about Wesley! It is so perfectly fitting for someone who doesn’t know him to read how he really is! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

