Posted in Pop Culture

Sports Fan

On any Sunday in the fall months, my father could be found passionately talking to the television screen. Of all the sounds I heard in house, this is what was the loudest. Add his fist making repeated contact with the coffee table and you got the message that this was his alone time. After football season ended, he directed his attention to “Showtime”, aka the Lakers, being led by Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul Jabbar. And even though he wasn’t a huge baseball fan, the memory of sitting on the hard concrete in front of Tom Sawyer’s Island at Disneyland watching the World Series on his Watchman (oh yeah, thank you 80s technology), is one that has stuck with me. By the time the water show Fantasmic! had begun, my family and I had waited at least two hours and everyone surrounding us was captivated by the game.

I am not a sports fan. Football, basketball, baseball, etc., are not something I care for. I only watch golf as a sign of my love for my husband (Tiger can suck it). I don’t get having a favorite team, even if I do watch the Superbowl (for the halftime show and commercials, of course).

But I do have a love of sports in one area of entertainment, as a result of having a sports fanatic for a Dad. Sports movies keep my attention like no game on ESPN can. The drama, the David and Goliath dynamic, and even the lack of promise that the hero will win (Rocky) keeps me looking forward to the newest one.

I was reminded of the love this weekend when my hubby and I sat down and watched Ron Howard’s Rush. For those who aren’t aware of it, Rush is a Formula One racing film that is set in the 1970s. It is about the relationship between racers James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) and Niki Lauda (Daniel Bruhl). It was so good. Not just for the race scenes (which were phenomenal) but the complicated friendship the rivals had. I can’t recommend this film enough. Here are a few other favorite sports stories that will keep me planted on the couch on any given Sunday afternoon:

Invincible: The story of NFL player, Vince Papale (Mark Wahlberg). There is nothing like a good underdog movie.

Fever Pitch: Yes, it really is more of a romantic comedy. But you can’t deny the devotion of Red Sox fans, as portrayed by Jimmy Fallon and friends.

Jerry Maguire: The breakdown of a sports agent (Tom Cruise) and finding his way back to the heart of the game is awesome. I love Cuba Gooding Jr. as arrogant and spoiled NFL player Rod Tidwell.

Warrior: Not only did this film put Tom Hardy (aka, Batman‘s Bane) on the map, but it showed heartbreak in the masculine world of MMA fighting. It is the story of two brothers (Hardy and Joel Edgerton) and the eventual match that puts them in the ring together.

Those are my picks. If you have a sports movie that you love, let me know! I would love to hear about it.

Rush movie

 

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

One thought on “Sports Fan

Leave a Reply

