Posted in Word Therapy

Walk the Walk

In the interest of my resolutions, it is time for me to challenge myself. I began my young adult novel in March of last year and my goal is to finish it on the one year anniversary of that start date. And when I say finish it, I mean edited, hacked, rewritten, and shipped off to a publishing house or a literary agent.

I have come up with many excuses since I started this book and to be honest, I am tired of them. High noon has arrived and it is time for me to announce that I am going to commit to 5000 words a week starting NOW. I will post a daily word count here. I’m going to hold myself to a higher standard with this goal. I figure the fear of publicly failing is the motivation I need.

I am diving into the deep end with this scary ass task. I know the words don’t have to be great. A lot of them will be butchered in the editing process. They just have to be my words. I won’t let fear win this time. So feel free to hold me accountable. I will succeed. There is no room for anything else.

Author supplies

1/6/14 Word Count: 1045

1/7/14 Word Count: 1138

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

One thought on “Walk the Walk

Leave a Reply

