Posted in Good Things

Hey Ladieeeeeeeessssss

As I make the last of the trek that is my thirties, I have become more and more aware of my health and the impact that I am leaving. Physical problems that I have had in the past few months have pointed me towards eating better and reading more ingredients on the food I am consuming. I have been introduced to a group of items that have improved my well being and put me on a new path that is cleaner. My new friends are coconut oil, apple cider vinegar, Aztec clay, and Henna.

CAM00068

If you haven’t been living under a rock, you have seen all the lists of uses for coconut oil on Pinterest. I tend to be weary of these lists because I feel that the minute I click on one I am going to be spammed. But I am here to sing the praises of coconut oil. I started using it back in May. I took the plunge and started what is called oil pulling. In a nutshell you are to take one tablespoon of coconut oil, swish it around for 15-20 minutes (seriously) in your mouth, and then spit it out. The oil is to “pull” all the bacteria out of your mouth and rid your system of it. For convenience I would do it in the shower. But since I didn’t want to slip and fall on my ass the next time I took a shower (or hubby for that matter), I would spit it into a napkin and throw it into the trash. This saves me a broken tush and doesn’t clog my drain (it is oil after all). After five months of this, I have not been sick and my teeth have never been whiter. For somebody who gets sick at least once a year like clockwork, I am now a believer in the coconut oil. Other ways I use it include: deodorant (mixed with a Q tip of tea tree oil), eye makeup remover, cooking, and even just to soften my elbows and knees.

Apple cider vinegar is one of nature’s medicines that I did not want to be a part of. If you have tasted it before, you know what I am talking about. It is awful with a capital A. But after I self diagnosed with gallstones and did my research, apple cider vinegar is a necessity.  It supposedly relieves gall bladder attacks and softens gallstones. I would first do a shot of it every day at lunch time. After enduring listening to my children laugh every time I would make a face as it went down, I switched to apple juice with the ACV mixed in. This makes it tolerable. The other way that I use it is with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay and use the combination as a weekly mask. My pores have gotten smaller, my face is brighter, and I swear my skin is so smooth ‘them Dukes could slide across it.

My last new friend is in the earlier stages of a relationship but I hope it will be a long and prosperous one. Living in California where I do, we don’t get much rain which leads my scalp to be very, very dry. For the longest time I thought I had dandruff and was using shampoo that can only be best described as smelling like a freshly paved road. As sexy as that is, using something so strong on my head and chemically treated hair turned me off. I also realized after research that I am not doing myself any good treating something I do not have. I made the decision to stop using the shampoo and to not use your typical over the counter boxed hair dye. I have switched to rubbing grape seed oil on my scalp the night before I shampoo and now dye (well, hubby applies it) my hair with henna. To make a long story even longer, henna is an all natural hair dye. It is to be used to enhance your hair color, not to cover gray. And once you use it, you can not use regular dye for at least a year (unless you want to do serious damage). I have been through the process once and it truly is a pain in the ass. It is the texture of mud, it has to be on for at least two hours, and it has Eau de farm animal as it’s scent. I had hubby apply it outside as I read horror stories about it staining bathroom counters and floors. I have also switched to sulfate free shampoo and conditioners. As I said, it is just the beginning but I hope to see improvement over the next few months. Good things come to those who wait. Right??

I regret that this is long winded but this journey is an important one for me and I hope that it will help others in the long run who may suffer from similar ailments as mine. Coconut oil, apple cider vinegar, Aztec clay, and Henna are becoming staples to me and will stick around as long as they prove they are worth the hype.

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

3 thoughts on “Hey Ladieeeeeeeessssss

Leave a Reply

