Posted in Pop Culture

Movie Trailer Monday: 12 Years A Slave

Oscar Watch 2013 continues over in my movie obsessed world and this week it focuses on director Steve McQueen’s movie, 12 Years a Slave. Just like Gravity received a lot of fanfare at the Venice Film Festival, 12 Years A Slave has received an abundance of love and amazement at the Toronto International Film Festival.

The true story focuses on Solomon Northrup, a free black man in New York who is sold into slavery. Chiwetel Ejiofor plays the title character. He might not be a household name but he has been around long enough to establish himself as a solid character actor. Hubby and I discovered him in 2002’s Dirty Pretty Things and I have loved him ever since. Others in the cast include Michael Fassbender, Benedict Cumberbatch (a Brit that I haven’t been able to get enough of lately), Paul Giamatti, and a little known actor named Brad Pitt.

The trailer brought me to tears. My two requirements for a good film include a talented cast and a story that touches my heart. 12 Years A Slave appears to have both. The film comes out in October, same as Gravity.

Blu-Ray or Theater:  You will find me in a dark theater come October.

Hope you kick this week’s ass rather than the other way around!  

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

