Posted in Mama Adventures

A long but perfect summer

The Wilson household has begun the countdown to the first day of school (12 days to go).  I for one am looking forward to getting back into a routine.  We are all getting restless with the triple digit temperatures that keeps us indoors.  Curls and Red are changing their minds daily on what they want to be for Halloween.  And whenever they ask for a new toy, my new response is, “Add it to your Xmas list that you will send to Santa in November.”  But before we move on to my favorite season and all the school and holiday activities that come with it, I want to reflect on our extended but best summer yet.

We took the term staycation seriously these past three months.  Our bucket list dictated that we treat Southern California like tourists and boy did we ever.  Here are a handful of the places that we visited:

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

El Capitan

Monsters University

Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Pier 2 Santa Monica Pier

Beach

Scarlet beach Wesley beach

Palm Springs

Palm Springs

We had our staples that we visited multiple times.  These places fit into our budget because we either had annual passes or cost next to nothing (YAY!).

Knott’s Berry Farm

Knotts 2 Knotts

Knott’s Soak City

Soak City

Trampoline Park

Trampoline park 2 Trampoline park 3 Trampoline park

When we stuck around the house we were either lounging and taking advantage of the lack of a schedule or doing:

Crafts

Crafts

Bubbles and running through the sprinklers

Bubbles

Video games

Video games

We also tried to put ourselves out there and be appreciative of all that we had.  We tried to give back and did:

Letters to soldiers

Soldier cards 2

Alex’s Lemonade Stand

Alexs Lemonade Stand

Recapping this summer just reminds me again how lucky I am.  I have my ups and downs like everybody else but I can always come back to my hubby and my kiddos.  Spending this summer with them has left me feeling content and happy.  Even if we didn’t finish the Bucket List.

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

