Posted in Pop Culture

Movie Trailer Monday: Divergent

I was wrong about The Host. I was wrong about Pacific Rim. I was excited for both and predicted that they would do big box office numbers. And I wasn’t just wrong. I was wrong on a level of epic proportions. The wrongest of wrongs. The Host bombed and had such awful reviews that I chose not to watch it and let it ruin the book for me. Pacific Rim was awesome and has produced decent enough numbers that there will most likely be a sequel. But it didn’t even touch Iron Man 3 and it’s success.

Which leads me to today’s new trailer, Divergent. I have mentioned the book before as one of my favorites, right behind The Hunger Games. The movie will be released in March 2014. It is set in the future where society is divided into five factions: Amity (peaceful), Erudite (scholarly), Abnegation (selfless), Candor (honest), and Dauntless (fearless). When our heroine Tris (Shailene Woodley) takes the test to find out what faction she is best suited for, the results show that she is Divergent. This translates to her not fitting into just one faction, which is rare. She must keep this a secret for her safety and chooses Dauntless. She becomes a part of a group of teens that may or may not take fit into an evil plan.

The preview premiered last night during the MTV Video Music Awards. There are high expectations for this film and it’s eventual sequels. I’m hoping against hope that it will be the “next” Hunger Games and not the “next” Twilight. I’m afraid to make a prediction about the film’s quality and success so let’s just say I will have my fingers crossed.

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=108179

Blu-ray or theater: I think it’s pretty obvious by now that I am a young adult book junkie. I will most likely be there opening weekend, sporting a t-shirt proclaiming my faction (Candor).

Have a great week!

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

