Posted in Good Things

Dear Red

Oh, my dear sweet Red. How I love you so. In the past four years you have taught me how different boys are from girls. And when I say different, I mean how crazy and full of energy you are compared to your sissy. You can be lovable one minute and infuriating the next. If I tell you to not do something, I can be sure that you will do it the minute I turn my back.  You are loud while your sister is quiet. You are hot tempered like sissy and mama and look your cutest when you are mad, all crossed arms and low lidded eyes. And your mischievous grin will get you out of trouble every time.

You love many things but your sissy is still number one. If she is in trouble and being scolded, you will be telling Mom and Dad to stop being mean to her. This assures me that you will be protecting her from anybody once you are in school. You still love Buzz Lightyear but Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Leonardo is your favorite) and Superheroes  (superhero names with their alter egos are embedded in your mind) are a close second. You discovered Cartoon Network and Boomerang channel this year which means you are asking for new toys every five minutes due to the abundance of commercials.  Macaroni and cheese with apple juice is your favorite meal. You love music and sing songs like “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons and “Royals” by Lorde at the top of your lungs, even if you are not pitch perfect (another way you are like your sister). And last but not least, you love the ladies. Oh my, do you love the ladies. You have been a flirt since before you were one and you have become more and more confident as you have grown. You will give hugs and big smiles to Scarlet’s friends, but mama is still your number one girl (for now). I can always count on at least five requests each day for “a hug, a kiss, and a touch (arms wrapped around my neck).”

You have become more and more independent this year. You go potty by yourself, started taking showers, and brushing your teeth. Getting you to pick up your toys is still a struggle but you are working on it. Big boy puzzles (100+ pieces) are what you always want to do, even if you rarely finish them. You are scared of bugs one day and then think they are cute the next. Fireworks still freak you out. You are becoming quite the acrobat with your somersaults to travel through the house and sitting on your head while you watch TV.

As you are a boy, farting is the funniest thing on the planet and I know it is just the beginning. And my favorite thing that you do that cracks me up every time is putting in your breakfast order the night before: “Mom, I have something important to tell you. Yes, Baby? I would like a cereal bar and some yogurt for breakfast. Okay Baby. I’m not taking orders right now, but thank you for the heads up.”

935751_10200270299899327_1887551537_n

I love you so much it leaves me exhausted. You make fires wherever you go but you can always count on me to be right behind you with a fire extinguisher. Happy 4th birthday my Love Bug.

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

3 thoughts on “Dear Red

Leave a Reply

