Posted in Pop Culture

Oh Sharknado, How You Slay Me

It’s been almost two weeks since Syfy’s Sharknado took Twitter by storm. And it took me until this past Saturday to get my husband to watch it. Husband watching it = falling asleep on couch next to me as soon as the opening credits start to roll. I was so very, very excited to watch this over the top B movie that has become an internet phenomenon. It’s sequel has already been ordered. Wil Wheaton and his wife Anne tweeted the premiere and it made me giddy with geek love.

A little history: I love a good B movie. They have bad acting to the Nth degree, ooze cheese, scantily clad women, and if you’re really lucky, you can practically see the green screen. Favorites from my childhood include Beastmaster, Swamp Thing, and Clash of the Titans. All of them had camp, boobs, and bad acting.

Sharknado has all the elements. It opens on the beach, Baywatch style. Ian Ziering (who actually had concerns about holes in the script before taking the role) and Tara Reid act with emotion that is more Lifetime movie of the week rather than a low budget monster movie. The abundance of sharks wreaking havoc appear to be modeled after the Jaws that jumps out at you during a Universal Studios tour. Where these sharks land throughout the movie provide some of the biggest unintentional laughs (through the bar window, through the roof of a car, on top of John Heard). Corn syrup blood flows while you while you listen to celery being crunched by the foley artists so we can hear the body parts being chomped on. There is a poor man’s Meadow Soprano look alike who would be better served in a Quentin Tarantino/Robert Rodriguez grindhouse feature (flowing hair, big guns, big boobs, etc.) And you WILL hear, “We’re going to need a bigger chopper” towards the end.

I did laugh out loud, but not as much as I thought I would. Sharknado is unlike anything I have ever seen before. I wasn’t a huge fan. But I can say that it had one of the best, most outrageous endings of any movie I have seen in a long time. I clapped in glee while my now awake husband just shook his head in disbelief. That alone made it worth the watch.

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

One thought on “Oh Sharknado, How You Slay Me

  1. Still haven’t seen it, but I am loving how much attention this super silly movie has gotten. I did see the seen the scene where Ian Ziering cuts himself out of the shark with the saw. Awesomeness! Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

