Posted in Pop Culture

Why I’m sad Cory Monteith is gone

Ever since I was young I have been fascinated by celebrities. I am a pop culture junkie. Getting lost in television shows and movies has and always will be my main means of escape. The actors and actresses on the screen are like family to me, even though I am no Nurse Betty.  

Then there is Glee. I distinctly remember watching the premiere episode of Glee, right after the seaon finale of American Idol in May of 2009. In a split second I fell in love with Rachel, Finn, Kurt, Mr. Schu, and Mercedes. My heart sang when they sang “Don’t Stop Believin’”. And I may have thrown a temper tantrum when I discovered that I would have to wait until the following fall for another episode.

I love all the music of Glee and the relationships the characters have with one another. But I most identified with their school status. The members of New Directions are bullied on a daily basis for whatever reason (singing, being gay, just for the hell of it). Since I am still dealing with being bullied as a child I could relate to this group of misfits. I wish that Glee had been on when I was a teenager so I could have felt less alone.

Then there was Finn, played by Cory Monteith. He was not the best singer or dancer in New Directions. Nonetheless, he was always their leader with his understated strength and lovability. He was the heart of Glee, even after he graduated from McKinley and became Mr. Schuester’s right hand man.

I do not pretend to have known the person Cory Monteith and what his struggles were. But I do feel I got to know a small portion of his personality within Finn. And for that reason alone, I will miss him. Glee and the world will not be the same without him.

Cory Monteith, courtesy of http://deshommesetdeschatons.tumblr.com/

 

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

