Posted in Good Things

Calming the Voices in My Head Part 1

With depression always looming over my head, I try to be conscious of what I can do to keep it at bay.  Health insurance policies these days are a total joke so I can’t afford to go to a therapist. And I don’t want to go on any medication such as Xanax because I know the side effects can sometimes outweigh the benefits ( I don’t even like to take Advil).

One thing I have been trying to do is eat better in addition to working out. Working out on a regular basis has been proven over and over that it helps with your mental health. But even with working out, eating better, and a trip to the doctor that showed I am in perfectly fine condition, I wanted to do more.

I do yoga on a weekly basis and one aspect of it is meditation. The close-your-eyes-while-sitting- cross-legged and saying “Oooooommmmm” meditation. I do this but not with the 100% focus that is required. My mind wanders every time and completely defeats what I am trying to accomplish.

To make a long story even longer, I have decided to try Transcendental Meditation. My first stop was their website. They define Transcendental Meditation as “a natural, effortless technique practiced 15-20 minutes twice daily while sitting comfortably.” They have the token celebrities endorsing the method (Jerry Seinfeld, Ellen Degeneres, Paul McCartney, Oprah). That all sounded good to me so I started reading the seven steps to learn. The first three steps are a FREE introductory talk, a FREE preparatory talk, and a FREE personal interview. And then you get to step four. This is where you meet with a certified TM teacher. At this meeting you will be required to pay the course fee. And the course fee is……$1500. Uuuuuhhhhh……you’ve lost me. If I can’t afford to go to a therapist, how in the world would I have $1500 to learn a breathing technique? My favorite part is below the seven steps they tell you you get “FREE” lifetime follow-up and support. Strike one for Transcendental Meditation.

Next up is Youtube. Youtube is a gold mine for the DIY person who wants to learn how to do ANYTHING.  Type in what you are looking for and Voila! But that Voila! Never came. Instead I sat through video after video telling me all the benefits of TM. Because of that overpriced fee of $1500 it appears how to do the actual technique has been banned from the internet. But here are some of the benefits:

  • Risks of cardiovascular diseases are reduced significantly (My Mom had heart surgery last year so this is a big one for me)

  • Muscle relaxation

  • Clearer thought

  • It encourages use of whole brain

After trying and trying to find out how to do TM, I came upon this article. And that was all I needed to know. I am going to find a mantra of my own choosing and sit in a quiet spot for 15-20 minutes to relax.  Stay tuned…..

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

5 thoughts on “Calming the Voices in My Head Part 1

  1. I did the same thing. I think I heard about the TM on Oprah or something. I was also let down by the price!!! Anyhow, Oprah later had a show with Deepak Choprah and he had a 30 day meditation series and I was super impressed with the results! So hard at the beginning, but I got the hang of it. However if you wanted to purchase the mantras and meditation music it was like $99…again, another let down. I am off the meditation and NOT IN BLISS! Lol, maybe we could set up a paypal account for ourselves so we can get donations for TM! Hahaha! Joking, but seriously if you can meditate, it works!

Leave a Reply

