Posted in Mama Adventures

Insert Evil Laugh

Almost six years into motherhood and I am still learning the ropes. I take it one day at a time and when the kids are finally asleep for the day I can collapse on the couch and truly relax.

With summer giving us hours and hours of play, I try to give them at least one constructive thing to do a day that doesn’t involve toys or television. But as good as my intentions are, they still fight like crazy and won’t listen to me.

A few weeks ago the fog momentarily cleared out of my brain and I had an idea. Anytime the kids needed to do something and wouldn’t, I would turn it into a competition. Whoever finished their task first got this or that. And boy did that work like a charm.

I am sure plenty of you mothers out there are like, “DUH, Stephanie.” But like I said, I am a little slow with my parenting skills. For now I am going to feel like The Puppet-Friggin-Master and muuuahahaa my way to a picked up playroom. Because if I have learned one thing, it’s that small victories are HUGE.  

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

