Posted in Mama Adventures

I’m “that” Mom

     My Curls is very smart. She has got mad math skills. Her reading is, in my opinion, way above her grade level. And don’t get me started on her spelling. Red is equally awesome. He was potty trained in three days. He sleeps in his own bed like a big boy. And he talks really well for a three year old.

     If you are still reading, I have one question for you: On a scale of 1-10, how obnoxious was that last paragraph? What’s that? An 11? Yeah, I am inclined to agree with you.

     I wish I could say that I have always been aware of my annoying ability to brag about my children. But 5 years, 6 months, 20 days, 5 hours, and 20 minutes passed before self awareness kicked in. And damn it’s a bitch. I was reading my morning blogs when I came across a new post from Baby Sideburns. She discussed how milestones in our lovies’ lives suck. She goes on to discuss those parents that are always talking about how advanced their children are and they are the only ones who are doing such and such. Call it an epiphany, call it the light bulb lit up, etc. I sat back in my dining room chair and went, “Huh. I do that.” Am I that bad? My inner voice didn’t even hesitate to answer, “YES.”

     So this is my formal apology to all that have had to listen to me talk about Curls and Red and how amazing they are ad nauseam. I really never meant any harm. And moving forward I will save how proud I am for the grandparents and for those who ask. And maybe for the poor, unsuspecting Starbucks barista who makes the mistake of telling my how cute my kids are….

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

