Posted in Pop Culture

Nerd is the Word

     It started with Star Wars when I was a kid. Then came my Wesley Crusher crush when I was a teen. In my twenties it was Buffy the Vampire Slayer, thus finding the God that is Joss Whedon. Now that I am an adult, just around the corner from hitting 40, it’s the Walking Dead (the comic books first and then the show), The Big Bang Theory, and coming full circle by following Wil Wheaton (aka Wesley Crusher) on Twitter. I have finally embraced my inner geek 100% and I am comfortable in my own skin for the first time in my life.

     My venture into nerdom was when I saw Return of the Jedi at the age of eight. I watched Star Wars repeatedly when I was young and getting to see the third film in the series was my first trip to the movies. I loved everything about the movie from Princess Leia’s new and improved hairdo to the Ewoks (so cute and cuddly even though they want to eat you!) It left an impression on me that has stuck for 30 years. I have seen many sci-fi films over the years but Star Wars (the original trilogy, just to be clear) has always been a favorite.

     I was called a nerd a lot when I was growing up. I fit the stereotype. I wore glasses, I did well in school, and I could be found in a corner with my nose stuck in a book on any given occasion. It was meant to be an insult and that is how I took it. But now that I am older and wiser, I wear that title proudly. Books have opened my mind. Comic books and their movies/television shows make my heart full. The Big Bang Theory, The Avengers, etc., etc are all up my alley.

     My point is that I have embraced what I love and don’t give a rat’s ass what anybody thinks about it. I wish I could go back and shake my younger self, telling myself to only care what I think. But now that I do, I am much happier for it. Now if I could just find the time to watch every Dr. Who season from 2005 and on…..

Author:

I'm Stephanie, a California girl who is moving forward and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

