Posted in Mama Adventures

You’re alright, Charlie Brown

I admit it. I’m a Disneyland snob. I loved Disneyland before I had kids, and that love only increased once I had my kiddos. Annual passes were a given. And then my youngest turned the dreaded age of three. Not only has he turned into a holy terror (who am I kidding, he’s been like that since he turned one), but we now have to buy him a pass in addition to his older sister. Hubs and I had discussed getting passes for this year. And then Disney released the bomb that was John Carter. And Cars Land at California Adventure opened over the summer. And with both of those factors coming into play, they raised their prices. When hubs and I calculated how much the passes would set us back, we found that it would be very close to one mortgage payment. So, it was good-bye Disneyland, hello Knott’s Berry Farm.

Knott’s Berry Farm is a smaller amusement park in Orange County about 10 minutes away from Disneyland. It’s one step up from a county fair with roller coasters, funnel cakes, and carnival games. Charles Schultz’s Peanuts gang are the face of Knott’s Berry Farm. There is a Snoopy on Ice show, the characters walk around for photo-ops with patrons, and then there is Camp Snoopy.

Camp Snoopy is the kids section of the park. It is kiddie ride galore. There is a Snoopy bounce house, Joe Cool’s Gr8 Sk8, Woodstock’s Airmail, and even an outdoor theater for the characters to put on shows.

Camp Snoopy was a big selling point for Hubs and I when we decided to get the annual passes. I was afraid the kids would compare it to Disneyland and be disappointed. But after our first trip I realized I couldn’t be more wrong. They screamed with delight as they ran from ride to ride. They throw their hands up in the air on Lucy’s Tugboat and laughed uncontrollably. On Woodstock’s Airmail, Curls looks nervous as the ride starts but then has the widest smile I have ever seen on her face as she is shot up and down. I have compared Curls to Grumpy Cat before.

This is my Curls’ soccer picture from last year

Scarlet Grumpy Cat

This is Grumpy Cat

Grumpy Cat

Don’t deny the resemblance.

So when one simple ride at a local amusement park can make my Curls grin from ear to ear, I am more than happy to take her and her brother there again and again. Even if it doesn’t have a princess castle or a mouse dressed up in a tuxedo.  

Knott's happy kids

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

One thought on “You’re alright, Charlie Brown

Leave a Reply

