Posted in Pop Culture

Peter Pan is an A-hole

     My hubby and I took the kids to see a screening of Peter Pan over the weekend.  My kids (particularly my Curls) are obsessed with Peter Pan and we thought we would surprise them.  They had a great time but I came to a realization.  Peter Pan is kind of an a-hole.  

     I had seen Peter Pan before but it had been a while since I sat through the whole thing.  As I listened to Peter tell Wendy that girls talk too much (he’s right, but STILL) and displays of other such behavior throughout the movie, I came to the conclusion that Peter is mean, immature, and a bit of a chauvinist.  Then I started to think about all the Disney movies that my kids watch, the same ones I had grown up with. 

     Take Snow White, for example.  Sure, she gets her Prince Charming in the end.  But this is after the evil queen orders the huntsman to take Miss White out to the woods and CUT HER HEART OUT with a knife.  Just because she’s a little jealous.  Or what about Pinocchio?  On his adventures he encounters Honest John and Gideon, who convince that him he is sick and he needs to go to a place called Pleasure Island to be get better.  This island consists of little boys that are riding carnival rides and eating all kinds of sugary treats.  After a while they start to turn into donkeys. Hellooooo??  Two men lure a little boy  to an island and give him candy?  Stranger danger, stranger danger!  Mother Gothel is Rapunzel’s mother who keeps her locked away in a tree tower because she says that the outside world is evil.  What she fails to mention is that she stole Rapunzel at birth from her parents, the king and queen.  The horror! 

     Now that I had put these Disney movies in perspective, I wondered if I should not let my kids watch them anymore.  But they didn’t seem to be bothered by the dark material. Hell, they love The Nightmare before Christmas, a movie that still scares the bejeezus out of me (the Oogie Boogie haunts my dreams). They love going to Disneyland.  And when I asked Curls why she loves Peter Pan, her response was, “I don’t know, he’s just special to me.”  So yeah, I will let them continue watching Disney movies. 

     Maybe no more Charlie Brown.  That Lucy is a little snot.

Author:

Making a mad dash for the happy. Stay hydrated my friends.

Leave a Reply

